
This debate has been plagueing mankind for as long as I can remember but the way I see it hip hop isn't dead it's just evolved. Think back to the early 90's when pac and big were reigning. If some dude rocking skinny jeans and nerd glasses was trying to make it as a rapper, record labels would've pointed them in the direction of the nearest gay bar... the same would've happened if rappers announced they wanted to collaborate with artists like Gaga and Elton John. Remember there was so much controversy and hype surrounding Eminem when he became a success in the game because a white bloke that could actually spit without being laughed at and still get played on commercial radio was unheard of at the time. Hip hop isn't what it used to be thats for sure, it's now much more diverse and accepting and I personally feel that can only be considered a good thing.
I admit that i'm not feeling 90% of the hip hop tracks played on the radio right now, but I like to keep an open mind and carry on tuning in at times, because when I hear artists like Jay, Kid Cudi, Kanye, Lupe, B.o.B, J Cole etc getting airplay it makes it worth it.
Let me know your opinions on the subject, it would be cool to hear other peoples perspectives.
Peace x
No comments:
Post a Comment